Best Headphones Under $500 in 2026: 9 Picks by Stated Details
The top pick in this price window is the Bose QuietComfort Ultra Headphones (2nd Gen), an over-ear wireless pair whose listing states active noise cancelling and a printed 30-hour battery figure. It also states more details than any other listing in the pool, which is what ranks it first. The 8 picks that follow include wireless over-ear pairs, wired open-back and studio headphones, in-ear monitors and a DJ pair, each compared on the details its listing states and on live prices.
9 picks from 9 headphones that match this guide with a price we can quote today. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.
The picks at a glance
Which one should you buy?
- For a daily train commute: An over-ear wireless pair with active noise cancelling named in the listing. The 30-hour printed battery figure is the one the title states, and this pick also states the most details in the window. See pick 1
- For a home recording desk: An open-back over-ear wired pair for a desk with a jack or an adapter. The wired connection is stated in the listing, and the open-back design lets sound pass through the earcups. See pick 4
- For a DJ booth: An over-ear pair from a DJ maker, sold with a case, a stand and a polishing cloth as the title says. No connection or active noise cancelling is stated, so check the source device before choosing. See pick 5
- For a long flight: A wireless pair with active noise cancelling named and a 30-hour battery figure printed in the title. The figure is the one the listing states; whether it includes the case is not stated. See pick 2
The 9 picks
1 Most stated details in this window
Bose QuietComfort Ultra Bluetooth Headphones
- Fit
- Over-ear
- Wireless or wired
- Wireless
- Active noise cancelling
- Yes
- Battery life (as listed)
- 30 hours
$369.00 (as of 11/01/2026 22:02 PST - Details)
Outside this guide's budget at today's price.
Ranks first because its listing states 4 of the 6 details: over-ear fit, wireless connection, active noise cancelling and a 30-hour battery figure. No other listing in this pool states more. The maker page also lists 30 hours of battery for this model.
Pros
- Only listing here to state fit, connection, active noise cancelling and a battery figure
- Over-ear wireless with active noise cancelling named
- Title prints 30 hours of battery
- Maker page lists 30 hours for this model
Cons
- No Hi-Res words and no earcup back stated
- The 30-hour figure may count the case; the title does not say
Good fit if
- Buyers who want over-ear wireless with active noise cancelling named
- Listeners who want a listing with the most details stated
Skip if
- Buyers who need a wired connection
- Buyers who want an open-back design
Verdict: The QuietComfort Ultra (2nd Gen) ranks first for stating the most details in this price window.
2 Printed 30-hour battery and active noise cancelling
Sony WH-1000XM6 The Best Noise Cancelling Wireless Headphones
- Wireless or wired
- Wireless
- Active noise cancelling
- Yes
- Battery life (as listed)
- 30 hours
$378.00 (as of 11/02/2026 01:15 PST - Details)
Outside this guide's budget at today's price.
Ranks second with 3 stated details: active noise cancelling, a printed 30-hour battery figure and wireless connection. It ties the top pick on battery but states one fewer detail because no fit is named.
Pros
- Active noise cancelling named in the title
- Title prints 30 hours of battery
- Wireless connection stated
Cons
- No fit stated in the listing
- No Hi-Res words and no earcup back stated
- The battery figure may count the case; the title does not say
Good fit if
- Buyers who want wireless with active noise cancelling named
- Listeners who want a printed battery figure in the listing
Skip if
- Buyers who need the fit stated before choosing
- Buyers who want an over-ear or earbuds label confirmed
Verdict: The WH-1000XM6 ranks second among the wireless noise-cancelling listings in this window.
3 Wireless over-ear with active noise cancelling
Apple AirPods Max 2 Wireless Over-Ear Headphones
- Fit
- Over-ear
- Wireless or wired
- Wireless
- Active noise cancelling
- Yes
$449.00 (as of 11/01/2026 21:42 PST - Details)
Ranks third with 3 stated details: fit, connection and active noise cancelling. It ties the previous pick on detail count but prints no battery figure in the title, so it sits after the Sony. The maker page states up to 20 hours of listening time.
Pros
- Over-ear and wireless stated
- Active noise cancelling named in the title
- Maker page states up to 20 hours of listening time
Cons
- No battery figure printed in the title
- No Hi-Res words and no earcup back stated
Good fit if
- Buyers who want an over-ear wireless pair with active noise cancelling named
- Buyers who want a maker-page battery figure
Skip if
- Buyers who want a battery figure printed in the listing
- Buyers who need a wired connection stated
Verdict: The AirPods Max 2 ranks third: over-ear, wireless and active noise cancelling, with battery left to the maker page.
4 Open-back over-ear wired pair
AKG Pro Audio K712 PRO
- Fit
- Over-ear
- Wireless or wired
- Wired
- Earcup back
- Open-back
$421.56 (as of 11/01/2026 21:36 PST - Details)
Ranks fourth with 3 stated details: over-ear fit, open-back earcups and a wired connection. It ties the previous two picks on detail count but has no printed battery figure, so it sits after the wireless pairs.
Pros
- Open-back and over-ear stated
- Wired connection stated
- Reference studio headphones named in the title
Cons
- No active noise cancelling named
- No battery figure printed
- Wired only: needs a jack or an adapter on the source
Good fit if
- Buyers at a home desk with a wired source
- Buyers who want an open-back design stated
Skip if
- Buyers who need wireless
- Buyers who want active noise cancelling named
Verdict: The K712 PRO ranks fourth as the open-back over-ear wired pair in this window.
5 Over-ear pair from a DJ maker
Pioneer DJ HDJ-X10 Flagship Over-Ear DJ Headphones
- Fit
- Over-ear
$493.90 (as of 11/02/2026 00:34 PST - Details)
Ranks fifth with 1 stated detail, the over-ear fit. The title is a DJ headphone from Pioneer DJ sold with a case, a stand and a polishing cloth; no connection, active noise cancelling or battery figure is stated.
Pros
- Over-ear fit stated
- Sold with a case, a stand and a polishing cloth, as the title says
- Pioneer DJ maker name stated
Cons
- No connection stated
- No active noise cancelling named
- No battery figure printed
Good fit if
- Buyers who want a DJ maker's over-ear pair in this window
- Buyers who want the bundle contents named in the title
Skip if
- Buyers who need a wireless or wired connection stated
- Buyers who want active noise cancelling named
Verdict: The HDJ-X10 ranks fifth as the DJ maker's over-ear listing in this window.
6 In-ear monitor earbuds from Audio-Technica
Ranks sixth with 1 stated detail, the earbuds fit. The title names professional in-ear monitor headphones, which makes it the only earbuds pick in this pool.
Pros
- Earbuds fit stated
- Only earbuds pick in this pool
- Title names professional in-ear monitors
Cons
- No connection stated
- No active noise cancelling, battery, Hi-Res or earcup back stated
Good fit if
- Buyers who want earbuds rather than over-ear or on-ear
- Buyers who want a professional in-ear monitor title
Skip if
- Buyers who want a wireless or wired connection stated
- Buyers who want active noise cancelling named
Verdict: The ATH-E70 ranks sixth as the earbuds pick in this price window.
7 Wired-only pick from Sennheiser
Ranks seventh with 1 stated detail, the wired connection. The title names a wired stereo headphone from Sennheiser; the listing states no fit, active noise cancelling, battery figure, Hi-Res words or earcup back.
Pros
- Wired connection stated
- Sennheiser maker name stated
- One of 2 wired listings in this window
Cons
- No fit stated
- No active noise cancelling, battery, Hi-Res or earcup back stated
- Wired only: needs a jack or an adapter on the source
Good fit if
- Buyers who want a wired Sennheiser listing
- Buyers with a source that has a jack or an adapter
Skip if
- Buyers who need wireless
- Buyers who want active noise cancelling named
Verdict: The HD 660S2 ranks seventh as the wired Sennheiser pick in this window.
8 Open-back reference monitor bundle
Sony MDR-MV1 Open-Back Reference Monitor Headphones Bundle
- Earcup back
- Open-back
$418.00 (as of 11/02/2026 01:14 PST - Details)
Ranks eighth with 1 stated detail, the open-back earcups. The title names an open-back reference monitor headphone bundle; no fit, connection, active noise cancelling or battery figure is stated.
Pros
- Open-back earcups stated
- Title names a reference monitor bundle
- Sony maker name stated
Cons
- No fit stated
- No connection stated
- No active noise cancelling or battery figure printed
Good fit if
- Buyers who want an open-back pair with a bundle in the title
- Buyers at a listening desk with an open-back preference
Skip if
- Buyers who need the fit or connection stated
- Buyers who want active noise cancelling named
Verdict: The MDR-MV1 ranks eighth as the open-back bundle in this window.
9 Bundle with headphone stand included
Audio-Technica ATH-M50x ENSO Closed-Back Monitor Headphones
$439.98 (as of 11/01/2026 21:50 PST - Details)
Ranks last because none of the 6 compared details is stated in the listing fields. The title names a closed-back monitor headphone bundle with a headphone stand, which is all this guide can compare it on.
Pros
- Bundle includes a headphone stand, as the title says
- Audio-Technica maker name stated
- One of 2 Audio-Technica listings in this window
Cons
- None of the 6 compared details stated
- No connection, active noise cancelling or battery figure in the title
Good fit if
- Buyers who want a bundle with a stand in this window
- Buyers who follow the Audio-Technica monitor line in the title
Skip if
- Buyers who want a listing that states fit, connection or active noise cancelling
- Buyers who need a battery figure printed
Verdict: The ATH-M50x ENSO ranks last here because its listing states none of the 6 compared details.
Side by side
| # | Pair of headphones | Fit | Wireless or wired | Active noise cancelling | Battery life (as listed) | Hi-Res or LDAC named | Earcup back |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bose QuietComfort Ultra Bluetooth Headphones | Over-ear | Wireless | Yes | 30 hours | not stated | not stated |
| 2 | Sony WH-1000XM6 The Best Noise Cancelling Wireless Headphones | not stated | Wireless | Yes | 30 hours | not stated | not stated |
| 3 | Apple AirPods Max 2 Wireless Over-Ear Headphones | Over-ear | Wireless | Yes | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 4 | AKG Pro Audio K712 PRO | Over-ear | Wired | not stated | not stated | not stated | Open-back |
| 5 | Pioneer DJ HDJ-X10 Flagship Over-Ear DJ Headphones | Over-ear | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 6 | Audio-Technica ATH-E70 Professional in-Ear Monitor Headphones | Earbuds | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 7 | Sennheiser HD 660S2 | Over-ear | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | Open-back |
| 8 | Sony MDR-MV1 Open-Back Reference Monitor Headphones Bundle | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | Open-back |
| 9 | Audio-Technica ATH-M50x ENSO Closed-Back Monitor Headphones | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
How we picked
This guide covers every priced pair in the catalogue that falls in its price window: 9 listings. The rule for the pool is the whole shortlist: every priced pair in that window. Each pair is compared on the details its listing states: fit, connection, active noise cancelling, the printed battery figure, Hi-Res words and earcup back. Picks rank by how many of those details the listing states (most first), then by the printed battery figure (largest first), then by the order in the catalogue. A listing that states none of the details ranks last. No detail is guessed: a missing field is written as not stated by the seller. Headphone reviews in this guide compare stated details and live prices only.
How to choose
Over-ear, on-ear or earbuds
Over-ear means earcups that go around the ear, on-ear means earcups that rest on the ear, and earbuds sit in the ear. In this window, the Bose, the AirPods Max 2, the AKG K712 PRO and the Pioneer DJ HDJ-X10 state an over-ear fit, and the Audio-Technica ATH-E70 states an earbuds fit. The other listings name no fit. Match the fit word on the title to the situation you listen in, and treat an unstated fit as a detail to confirm before buying.
Wireless, wired or both
Wireless means the title says wireless or Bluetooth; wired means a cable or a plug with no wireless link. In this pool, the Bose, the Sony and the AirPods Max 2 state wireless, while the AKG K712 PRO and the Sennheiser HD 660S2 state wired. A wired pair needs a jack or an adapter on the source device; a wireless pair needs charging. The catalogue holds no data on range or connection stability, so this guide does not compare them.
What active noise cancelling on a title means
When a listing names active noise cancelling, this guide says only that the title names it, never how much noise it removes. The Bose, the Sony and the AirPods Max 2 titles name active noise cancelling; the other 6 listings in this window do not. No decibel figure or comparison of cancellation strength appears in the catalogue, so none is written here.
Closed-back or open-back
Closed-back means the earcups are enclosed; open-back means sound passes through them. In this window, the AKG K712 PRO and the Sony MDR-MV1 state open-back, and no listing states a closed-back field. The other pairs leave the earcup back unstated. Whether you prefer an open or a closed design depends on your listening space, not on a figure in the catalogue.
Reading a battery figure on a title
A printed battery figure is the largest hour figure the title states. The Bose and the Sony titles print 30 hours, and this guide quotes those figures as printed. Some titles count the charging case and some do not, and the title often does not say which, so two printed figures may not measure the same run. This guide never treats two battery figures as equal, and it never adds a runtime the title does not print.
What this guide leaves out (and why)
The catalogue holds no data on sound quality, comfort, microphone quality, latency, durability or how much noise is cancelled. This guide compares only the details a listing states: fit, connection, active noise cancelling, the printed battery figure, Hi-Res words and earcup back. When a field is missing, you read 'not stated by the seller' rather than a guess. Buy on the details you can verify from the title.
Questions
Does this guide cover sound quality, comfort or how much noise is cancelled?
No. The catalogue has no data for sound quality, comfort, microphone quality or the amount of noise a pair cancels, and this guide never guesses them. Each pick is compared on the details its listing states: fit, connection, active noise cancelling by name, the printed battery figure, Hi-Res words and earcup back. A field the listing does not state is written as 'not stated by the seller'.
Why is the Bose QuietComfort Ultra (2nd Gen) the top pick?
It states 4 of the 6 compared details: over-ear fit, wireless connection, active noise cancelling and a 30-hour battery figure. No other listing in this pool states more. The ranking rule places listings with more stated details first, then compares printed battery figures, so the Bose leads the list.
Are there wired pairs in this price window?
Yes. Two picks state a wired connection: the AKG K712 PRO and the Sennheiser HD 660S2. Both need a jack or an adapter on the source device. The Bose, the Sony and the AirPods Max 2 state wireless, and the remaining listings state no connection at all.
What does 'the title prints 30 hours' mean?
It means the listing's title states 30 hours as the battery figure, and this guide quotes only that figure. Some titles count the charging case and some do not, and the title often does not say which, so two printed figures may measure different runs. This guide never treats two battery figures as equal unless the titles make it clear.
Does this guide include pairs below its threshold?
No. This guide covers every priced pair in its stated range, which is the entire pool: 9 listings. Pairs below that range belong to other guides and are not ranked here.
How is the ranking ordered?
Picks rank by how many of the 6 listed details the listing states, most first; then by the printed battery figure, largest first; then by the order in the catalogue. No pick is ranked by price, popularity or a sound claim. A listing that states none of the details ranks last.
Recent updates
- : First published.








