BestHeadphones

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Headphone Apps: EQ, ANC, Firmware Updates

Short answer: A companion app is the software a headphone maker offers for its wireless headphones and earbuds. Pages name these apps: Bose names the Bose app, Beats names the Beats App for Android, and soundcore names the soundcore app. The controls an app covers include EQ adjustments, ANC or listening mode controls, firmware updates, and battery status. Before buying, check which app the maker names, what controls the listing prints, and whether the maker describes software updates.

What a companion app is

A companion app is the mobile software a headphone maker provides for its wireless headphones and earbuds. It is separate from the headphones; you pair the headphones to your phone, and the app communicates with them over the same wireless connection. Not every pair has an app, and the app is not needed for basic playback.

The maker's page is where you see whether an app exists and what it is named. The Bose page names the Bose app for its QuietComfort headphones. The Beats page names the Beats App for Android. The soundcore page names the soundcore app. AIAIAI lists a software and mobile app section on its site.

What a companion app typically covers:

  • EQ adjustments
  • ANC and listening mode controls
  • Firmware updates
  • Battery status

EQ adjustments in the app

EQ, short for equalization, is a set of controls that adjust how strongly different frequency ranges come through. A companion app may offer preset EQ settings, custom bands, or both. The AirPods Max 2 page names Custom EQ as a feature: three intuitive controls that let you personalize your sound. That is the stated detail from the page.

Wired and studio headphones often have no companion app at all; EQ then happens in software on your computer or phone. If EQ inside the headphone itself matters to you, look for the word EQ or an app name on the listing. For a deeper look at the words, read about EQ presets.

ANC and listening mode controls

Active noise cancelling reduces incoming sound using microphones and inverted sound waves. The controls for it often live in a companion app or on the headphone itself. The basics of active noise cancelling explain the term; here the question is where the controls sit.

The Bose page lists listening modes named Quiet, Aware, Immersion, and Cinema, plus an Off ANC setting, for its QuietComfort headphones. The soundcore page names 5 levels of adjustable transparency. The AirPods Max 2 page names Adaptive Audio, which adjusts noise cancellation depending on your environment, and Transparency, which lets outside sound in. Transparency modes are covered in a separate article.

A listing that names these mode words is telling you the maker states those controls. A listing that names none of them gives you no stated basis for app-controlled modes. Compare noise cancelling headphone picks on the words each listing prints.

Firmware updates

Firmware is the software stored inside the headphones themselves. A firmware update changes how the headphones behave after purchase. A companion app is a common path for receiving these updates.

The Beats page describes registering your Beats to get the latest software updates. The soundcore page tells you to keep the earbud firmware updated to the latest version and to use a soundcore app version of 3.8.7 or later. Those are the stated facts on the pages.

Firmware updates are routine upkeep, not a reason to prefer one pair over another by itself. What matters on a listing is whether the maker names an app and describes updates. Firmware and DSP tuning is explained in its own article.

Battery status and stated battery figures

Battery status in an app is a readout of how much charge remains in the headphones and, for true wireless earbuds, in the charging case. Companion apps commonly include this view, though a maker's page may not describe it. Read it as a daily convenience, not as a stated specification. Battery capacity is a separate stated detail on listings.

The stated battery figures on a listing are a separate thing. The Bose page prints 24 hours for the QuietComfort Headphones and 30 hours for the QuietComfort Ultra Headphones (2nd Gen). The AirPods Max 2 page prints up to 20 hours of listening with Active Noise Cancellation enabled. The soundcore Space One page prints 40 hours with ANC on and 55 hours with ANC off.

Compare printed figures when battery life matters to you; see the long battery life picks for pairs whose listings print the longest figures.

What to check before you buy

When app features matter to you, read the listing for the maker's app name and for mode words such as quiet, aware, transparency, adaptive, and custom EQ. A listing that names none of these does not state that such controls exist.

The site's guides compare stated details only, so the best match for your situation is a listing whose own words name the controls you want. Browse the wireless headphone picks, the wireless earbud picks, and the main headphone guide with app features in mind. For a wired or studio pair, an app usually plays no part in the listing; see the wired headphone picks instead.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You want EQ controls from your phoneA wireless listing whose maker names an app and EQBest Wireless Headphones in 2026: 15 Picks by Stated Details
You want ANC modes you can switchA listing that names modes such as quiet, aware, or adaptiveBest Noise Cancelling Headphones in 2026: 15 Picks by Stated Details
You want firmware updates after purchaseA maker that describes software updates and product registrationBest Wireless Earbuds (2026): Headphone Reviews
You want battery figures you can compareA listing that prints an hour figure for the headphones and caseBest Headphones with Long Battery Life (2026): 9 Picks
You work at a desk with wired headphonesA wired listing; app features are not part of the stated detailsBest Wired Headphones in 2026: 15 Picks by Stated Details

Questions

Do all headphones have a companion app?

No. The pages in this article name apps from Bose, Beats, soundcore, and AIAIAI. Many wired and studio pairs have none. Read the listing for an app name; if it is absent, the maker does not state one.

Is the app required to use the headphones?

The pages do not state that an app is required for playback. The app is described alongside controls and updates. Read the maker's page for what it says about setup.

What is EQ in a companion app?

EQ is equalization: controls that adjust how strongly different frequency ranges come through. The AirPods Max 2 page names Custom EQ as a stated feature with three intuitive controls.

What does a firmware update do?

Firmware is software stored in the headphones; an update changes how they behave after purchase. The Beats page describes registering for the latest software updates, and the soundcore page tells you to keep earbud firmware updated.

Can I get ANC controls without an app?

Some listings describe on-headphone controls. The pages also name modes such as quiet, aware, and adaptive. Read the listing to see which words it prints.

Does an app show battery status?

Companion apps commonly include a battery readout for the headphones and charging case. The stated battery figures on a listing are the figures to compare; the app view is a daily convenience.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides